Barangays > Buenavista

Logo Brief History

During the Spanish regime, Payompon was the name of the area where Buenavista is located at present. The wide land was owned by well off families and the biggest landowner was Don Daniel Alvarez. Only a few families settled in this grass-covered land, thus, this place was made as grazing ground of goats, cows and carabaos.

In 1916, when Don Santiago Dangeros was appointed as municipal president of Sablayan, he and his brother in law, Don Daniel Alvarez donated one and a half hectare for the primary school of Payompon. However, it was only in 1928 when the first schoolhouse made of nipa and bamboo was constructed in this place. It happened when Don Hermogenes Daño was the municipal president of Sablayan.

In 1931, the next municipal president of Sablayan, Don Lucas Fernandez, constructed a bamboo bridge for the primary school pupils of Payompon.

When Don Maximino Papa was the municipal president of Sablayan, he led the municipal councilors in requesting members of the Philippine Congress that Payompon be created as a barrio and its official name be changed to Buenavista. The request was granted. On Septmber 8, 1936 by virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 28, Buenavista became the official name of Barrio Payompon.

During the term of office of Teniente del Barrio Celestino Dapito, he talked with the leader of the adjacent barrio of Sto. Niño and they set the boundary between the two communities.

When Hon. Leoncio Ordenes was the mayor of Sablayan, he built the new municipal hall at Buenavista. Due to this development, roads and bridges were constructed in the barrio and small stores appeared in the area.

In 1961, Hon. Crispin Ordenes was elected as the leader of Buenavista. By that time, the title of barrio leaders was changed to capitan del barrio. Capitan del Barrio Ordenes talked with the leader of Sto. Niño and they changed the border of the two places, the boundary which is being followed up to the present time.

When barrio high schools were opened throughout the country, parents and teachers of Sablayan requested officials of the education department to establish public high schools in the municipality. It was realized in 1970. The first building of the barrio high school of Buenavista was constructed inside the municipal compound.

During martial law, under the administration of Mayor Pedro Gonzales, the concrete highway constructed by the national government in Sablayan, passed through the center of Buenavista. Concrete bridges were built in this barangay.

When Hon. Godofredo Mintu served as the mayor of Sablayan, rapid progress took place in Buenavista. This barangay became the new center of the municipality. New buildings were constructed inside the municipal compound. A municipal gymnasium was built, the plaza, market and wharf for motorboats were improved. Due to these developments, big stores and commercial establishments appeared in Buenavista.

In 1994, during the term of office of Brgy. Captain Narciso Fernandez, a barangay hall, day care center and fish port were constructed in Buenavista. He opened new roads in the sitios under the jurisdiction of the barangay and he tried his best to make Buenavista a constant winner in the Clean & Green Program of the municipality.

Barangay Officials

barangayofficial
Punong Barangay
James R. Zubiri
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Narciso F. Fernandez
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Generoso Z. Dawates Jr.
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Juanita M. Absalud
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Ronilo C. Arellano
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Elvis C. Leyto
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Aurora B. Alburo
barangayofficial
Sangguniang Barangay Member
Eugenio M. Dimayacyac
barangayofficial
SK Chairperson
Danica M. Barreto
barangayofficial
Barangay Secretary
Ma. Leslie Ann D. Gobrin

Tourist Spots

Mobirise Website Builder
Sablayan Museum
Sablayan Museum is the first of its kind in Occidental Mindoro, it showcases the rich historical, cultural, and biological wealth of the town. A unique feature is the nature section where one can have a simulated experience of the forest and underwater wonders. Established in 2007, its first collection of artifacts was built from the effort of townsfolk who donated or lent family heirlooms and collections.
Mobirise Website Builder
Mangyan Monument
Mangyan Monument is a homage to the Tao Buhid and the Alangan tribes, the first inhabitants of Sablayan. Unveiled in 2012, this work of art also acknowledges the harmonious relationship between the tribes and the lowland settlers.
Footer Logo
Contact Us

Phone
Mobile
Email
Fax

Follow Us
About
  • Sablayan LGU official website is developed primarily to serve as a centralized platform for the public to access important information, such as public services, policies, announcements, and contact details for government officials.

AI Website Generator